top of page
  • Writer's picturesaltybeachscrapper

Am I in a dark space? Why can't I create?


I had crafter's burnout and this is how I got out of my rut.

Forgive the scary picture but I know we have all gone through this one time or another and this picture is how I felt. Wore out, stressed, feeling blah, and also the amount of guilt one feels as a social media crafter. I feel guilty if I have not come up with a craft or tutorial for my followers, yes I said it... guilty as charged! But even though I felt conscience- stricken there was nothing I could do about it. My brain was blocked. I couldn't make up my mind about what to create.

I walk into my craft room and stare at my desk with despair. I grab some of my Valentine’s paper pads and embellishments. I think maybe I should start with something simple? A card! Yes, that’s a girl.. Who can’t make a card right? After what seemed like the eternal hour I shutter with despair! I look down at my creation and it was # Basic! No frills, no embellishments, no glitter??? I’m thinking who am I? I don’t even know who I am anymore. This is when I realize I need a crafty vacation! No, not going on a scrapbook retreat, not going to a crop. A full blown no craft zone vacation! I know your mouth just dropped right now, lol. It’s o.k., it’s going to be alright.

I spent the next 2 weeks catching up on every Netflix series, movie, Prime video, Prime original, and Hulu show I ever wanted to watch. I also took down Christmas, organized, labeled and stored it away. By week three I began to feel like maybe, just maybe I’m ready to craft again. I walked in my craft room and then spun around and walked right back out. Know that this feeling is completely normal and nothing to feel guilty about. I decide to sit down and go down the Pinterest spiral for upcoming Valentine’s projects. I decided on a project and went back into my craft room and then once again walked right back out…. I’m thinking, am I depressed? I don’t have anything to be depressed about, so it can’t be that. Not depressed but a feeling of Fogginess in my brain. So I decided to get out of my house and head for my favorite place… the ocean.

Photo Credit: Vero Beach Neighborhood Inc. Photographer: John Williams


I know not all of you live close to the ocean but try and go to your favorite spot in your city. Sometimes you need to just go outside and breathe in the fresh air. But for those of you that are where it is sub zero temps, try going to a movie, shopping with your friends, pick your favorite restaurant or coffee house. Just get out of your home and de-stress.

The next day I call my crafty friend Debbie and we spoke about upcoming projects and craft challenges. She spoke about her ideas and I spoke about mine. Her challenge was something I had never done before and in July for my birthday she sent me a metal die that would be perfect for this challenge.

I decided to go back into my craft room and give this idea a whirl and after an hour or so I was finished. I had created a beautiful item for her challenge. I won’t say what it is because I don’t want to spoil Debbie’s fun in telling you, so for now mum’s the word,lol.

I haven’t gone back into my craft room until today, not because I wasn’t ready, but life has gotten in the way. Now that all the doctor appointments and Birthdays are finished it is safe to go back into my crafty layer. Today I’m ready to create something special for Valentine’s Day! Here are a few ideas on how to break free from crafter's block.


Know that taking a break is ok

De-stress

Spend time with your friends and loved ones

Go somewhere special

Organize your craft space

Purge

Check out other crafty websites to get your creative juices going

Step out of your comfort zone


I am not much of a blogger, but my goals are to share a little more about my life beyond the craft room. Thank you so much for sticking with this long blog post and if you have ever felt something like this I'd love to hear how you got your mojo back.

XOXO~ Kimmy


41 views0 comments
bottom of page